66th Singapore National Chess Championships 2014 (22 Dec to 31 Dec 2014)

updated 21 Dec 2014

Default time will be increased to 60 minutes from start of the round.

updated 20 Dec 2014

In view of the withdrawal of a player from the National Premier one day after the Technical Meeting, the EXCO decided to organise the National Championship by merging all the players in the categories – Premier, Candidates, Women & Challengers. There overall winner will be crowned National Champion provided he is a SC/SPR. The highest 2 finishers among players rated below 2000 shall assume the privileges as stated in the regulations for the Challengers. Default time is 45 minutes from the start of the round. The Chief Arbiter shall be IA Thomas Hoe with FA Lisa Li and NA Nisban Jasmin as Deputy Arbiters.

updated 16 Dec 2014


Starting List, Pairings, Results

66th National Chess Championships 2014

updated 12 Dec 2014

Technical Meeting will be further postponed to Monday, 15 December 2014 at 7 pm.

updated 08 Dec 2014

Technical Meeting will be rescheduled to Sunday, 14 December 2014 at 6 pm.

1. Date: 22 December 2014 to 31 December 2014.

2. Entry Deadline: Before 6 pm Saturday 13 December 2014.
2.1. Late entries shall not be entertained.
2.2. In case if any category has less than 6 entries, that category will be cancelled.

3. Venue: Singapore Chess Federation (51 Bishan Street 13, #02-01A SIGC (Bishan CC), Singapore 579799)

4. Format: Minimum 6-player double Round-Robin, up to 12-player Round-Robin.

5. Time control: 40 moves in 2 hours, followed by 30 minutes for the rest of the game.

6. Zero-Start: Default time is 30 minutes from the Start of the Round.

7. Laws: FIDE Laws of Chess apply.

8. Eligibility:
8.1. Membership: SCF members (Junior, Associate, Ordinary or Life).
8.2. Nationality: Singapore Citizen or Singapore Permanent Resident.

9. Appeals Committee:
9.1. SCF shall appoint the 3 members of the Appeals Committee.
9.2. Any appeal towards an Arbiter's decision shall be made in writing latest 15 minutes after end of the respective round to the Chief Arbiter and accompanied with a deposit of $100 to SCF, which shall be refunded if the appeal is accepted, or forfeited if unsuccessful.
9.3. The decision of the Appeals Committee is final.

10. SCF:
10.1. The SCF has the right to accept or reject entries without assigning any reason.
10.2. Subject to Rules 2.2 and 4 above, the SCF HPE reserves the right to nominate up to two players for each section (Premier, Candidates & Women's).
10.3. Organizer's decisions on any protest made, other than on arbiter's decisions, are final.

11. Schedule: Technical Meeting will be held Sunday, 14 December 2014 at 7 pm 6 pm at the SCF.

Date Day 9 am to 2 pm 3.30 pm to 8.30 pm 6.30 pm to 11.30 pm
22 Dec Mon     Round 1
23 Dec
Tue     Round 2
24 Dec Wed     Round 3
25 Dec
Thu   Round 4  
26 Dec Fri     Ronud 5
27 Dec Sat   Round 6  
28 Dec Sun Round 7 Round 8  
29 Dec Mon     Round 9
30 Dec Tue     Round 10
31 Dec Wed     Playoffs from 6.30 pm 'till finish

11.1. SCF reserves the right to amend the schedule subject to the number of entries in each category.

12. Ranking & Tie-Break:
12.1. The final ranking is determined by the number of points scored.
12.2. In case of a tie, play-off shall decide 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th place.

13. Play-Off: Play-off tie-breaks:
13.1. 2-player play-off tie-break 1: two rapid games with alternating colours.
Time control: 25 minutes + 10 seconds increment after each move, starting from move one.
13.2. 2-player play-off tie-break 2: two blitz games with alternating colours.
Time control: 5 minutes per player + 2 seconds increment after each move, starting from move one.
13.3. 2-player play-off final tie-break 3: Armageddon: 1 game. White starts with 6 minutes, Black with 5 minutes. To win, White must win the game. If ending in a draw or win for Black, Black wins.
13.4. In case of a more than 2-player tie, the Chief Arbiter shall announce the play-off format (which shall include rapid, blitz & Armageddon) not later than 15 minutes after end of last game.

14. Additional Regulations:
14.1. Withdrawals shall not be refunded.
14.2. Players are assumed to have read the Tournament Rules and are obliged to obey them.
14.3. Competitors are expected to maintain acceptable standards of dress & behavior.

15. Qualification: No Entry Fee.
15.1. FIDE-rated 2300 and above, as on 1st December 2014 FRL (standard chess).
15.2. Winner of the National Championship (Premier) 2013 (Goh Weiming).
15.3. Top 2 players from the Candidates Tournament 2013 (Sivakumar Ashvin & Goh Choon Kang Philip).
16. Prizes: The Winner will be awarded custody of the "Dr Wong Yip Chong Cup" for one year.
Medals to the first 3 positions.

17. Qualification: Entry Fee is $100.
18.1. FIDE-rated 2000 and above, as on 1st December 2014 FRL (standard chess).
18.2. Top 2 players from Candidates 2014 shall qualify for Premier 2015.
18. Prizes: Medals to the first 3 positions.

19. Qualification: Entry Fee is $100.
19.1. All players are eligible.
19.2. Top 2 players from Challengers 2014 shall qualify for Candidates 2015.
20. Prizes: Medals to the first 3 positions.

21. Qualification: Entry Fee is $100
21.1. Women players FIDE-rated 1800 and above as on 1st December FRL (standard chess).
21.2. Top 2 players from National Championship (Women) 2013 (Ho En Huei Danielle & Liu Yang Hazel).
22. Prizes: Medals to the first 3 positions.

Download Registration Form

Upcoming Events


Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa